3Cs of CODING

3Cs of CODING

What I learned in 2 months of studying

Quick Backstory

1.jpg[circa 2019]

I graduated IT in college and after that I didn’t really use my IT degree. I went looking for more practical jobs I worked on call center, customer service representative, until I ended up being a freelance video editor and graphic designer.

Not until 2 months ago, I applied for a job to be a Software QA which is so far away from what I’ve done so far. As expected, I didn’t get the job…but one thing the interviewer told me is, “If you really want to go back in tech, choose the job that you really love.”

2.jpg[1st photo I took when I was a call center agent, 2020]

I then started to search for inspirations. I saw different content creators talking about career shifting…bla-bla-bla, and I ended up taking a Udemy course for Full Stack Web Development.

WHAT I LEARNED FOR THE PAST 2 MONTHS?

1. CONSISTENCY over MOTIVATION

  • I’ve been consistent for the first month and so…but sh*t happened when I got bombarded with deadlines with my freelance work and I don’t have energy enough to study and code. That sucked because I feel like all the things I’ve learned are starting to fade.

2. COMMUNITY over ISOLATION

  • At first I thought doing it alone is better, but being in a community is best. It makes the journey enjoyable. A good community adds a great taste in your coding journey, you feel that you belong and really starting something.

3. COURAGE over FAILURE

  • Along my journey I’ve been stuck, I had hard times whenever trying to learn new concepts. I became inconsistent…but the courage the continue sounds better than failing to unleash my potential.

SO WHAT NOW?

8292022 - 1.jpg

Deadlines may sound valid reasons for me to stay away from studying but deep down in me I know they are just excuses from lack of planning and management.

Writing this…it’s been a week since I coded, it really feels that knowledge is fading. But it’s not too late to bounce back…I will bounce back.

SO WHAT DID I LEARN?

True essence of consistency, the importance of community, and a courageous spirit to keep thriving despite all failures.